WEC Energy Group
Allen L. Leverett

Allen L. Leverett

President – WEC Energy Group
(currently on medical leave)

Allen Leverett was named president of WEC Energy Group in June 2015 and chief executive officer in May 2016. He was appointed to the board of directors in January 2016. Leverett is currently on medical leave.

Leverett had served as president of Wisconsin Energy Corp. since August 2013, as well as president – Wisconsin, Michigan and Minnesota, with responsibility for business operations of the company’s utilities in those states.

Previously, Leverett served as president and chief executive officer of We Generation, the company’s power generation group, since March 2011, with overall responsibility for the company’s electric generation portfolio, fuel procurement, environmental compliance and renewable energy development strategy. He joined Wisconsin Energy in 2003 as chief financial officer. In May 2004, he was named executive vice president and chief financial officer of Wisconsin Energy and We Energies.

Prior to joining the company, Leverett served as chief financial officer and executive vice president of Georgia Power in Atlanta, Georgia. Before that, he was vice president and treasurer of Southern Company Services, with overall responsibility for financial planning and analysis, capital markets and leasing, treasury and investor relations. Previously, he held a variety of positions in transmission planning, integrated resource planning, strategic planning, wholesale marketing and finance.

Leverett earned his bachelor’s degree, summa cum laude, in electrical engineering and mathematics from Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee. He also earned a master’s degree in electrical engineering from Stanford University, Palo Alto, California, and a Master of Business Administration degree with a finance concentration from Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama.

Leverett is a director of American Transmission Co., non-executive chairman of Church Mutual Insurance Co., and a member of the board of directors of the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) and the Edison Electric Institute (EEI).